The savings plan you can realistically stick to in 2015…

In case you missed it, it is 2015! What are your resolutions this year? I haven’t necessarily set any resolutions for myself, but I do have goals and hopes for the year. One of my goals is to begin planning for my financial future.

You may have seen the popular “52 Week Money Saving Challenge” online. [see photo below] It’s such a great idea… but, also a little out of my reach at this point in my life. I mean, I am still a college student. The point is you save the same amount of money as the week of the year it is. A savings total of $1,378 by the end of the 52 weeks. Weeks 1-15 sound great, but weeks 49-52… eek.

I really wanted to set money saving goals that I could realistically meet this year, so I took the idea of the challenge and changed it up a bit. Each month I will save no more than $60. Of course if I have extra change, I may throw it in. By the end of the year I will have saved $780. That’s still a pretty nice chunk of change! Each month is broken down so instead of saving a big chunk of money several weeks in a row, I am going back and forth from a small amount to a larger amount.

savings plan

savings plan

Grab yourself a jar, print this out [the link above] and tape it on and throw in your first week of cash. Enjoy and happy savings! Remember that financial peace is more rewarding and is a longer lasting happiness than the joy found in stuff. YOU CAN DO THIS!

–J

“The plans of the diligent lead surely to plenty, but those of everyone who is hasty, surely to poverty.”-Proverbs 21:5


P.S. I got the cute background over at Striped Cat Studio. Kate made this beautiful print for Valentine’s Day. There are tons of other cute things on her blog… check it out!

http://stripedcatstudio.com/2014/02/14/happy-valentines-day/

whatcha think?

